Hunter Education Class Scheduled
October 20 and 21 at Post School Cafeteria
Published Sept. 16, 2012 @ 9:12 a.m.
A hunter education class has been scheduled for October 20 and 21, beginning at 8am at the Post High School cafeteria, according to Drew Spencer, Garza & Lynn County Game Warden and Hunter Education Instructor. Spencer adds that the class on Saturday will run until 5pm, with students allowed an hour and a half lunch break. Sunday’s class will be from 1pm until 5pm. Students will be required to attend class both days.
According to the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department, if you were born on or after September 2, 1971, and you are:
* under 9 years of age, you must be accompanied, or
* age 9 through 16, you must successfully complete a hunter education course, or you must be accompanied, or
* age 17 and over, you must successfully complete a hunter education course; or purchase a “Hunter Education Deferral,” and you must be accompanied.
Spencer points out that "accompanied" means: by a person who is at least 17, who is licensed to hunt in Texas, who has passed hunter education, or is exempt (born before September 2, 1971), and who is within normal voice control. Proof of certification or deferral is required to be on your person while hunting.
However, any individual may take the course on a voluntary basis and is encouraged to attend regardless of requirements, according to Spencer.
"The course is open to adults and youngsters and will include instruction in modern firearms and primitive sporting arms handling and safety, outdoor responsibility and ethics, laws and regulations, wildlife conservation and management, hunting traditions, field care of game and wilderness first aid and survival,” Spencer added. “I’m hoping better attendance than my two classes last year. With youth deer and turkey season opening the following week, there should be higher demand."
The minimum age for certification is 9 years and cost is $15. Students 9 years of age or older successfully completing the course will be issued a "Temporary Student Card" at the end of the course. Students will then receive an original "Hunter Education Certificate" from Texas parks and Wildlife after processing the paperwork. Those less than 9 years of age will receive a “Certificate of Attendance,” but must take the course again after turning 9 for proper certification.
To register for the course, please contact Drew Spencer at (806) 773-4179. Additional hunter education information can be found at the following website: www.tpwd.state.tx.us/learning/hunter_education.